Birthday Practices

I recently celebrated my 31st birthday, and as a result I’ve been re-evaluating my whole life, which I tend to do, regardless of whether it’s intentional or not, on my birthday, and also on new year’s day, which are both ‘a new year’ of sorts for me.

I often, especially on my birthday, do some birthday magic as a way to usher in the new year. This typically involves at least one cleansing bath, on or just before my actual birthday, and also some enchantment/practical magic geared toward making sure my year goes how I want it to.

This year after my cleansing bath, I did a petition spell which I wrote out and placed on a tin plate, with a lodestone on top, and once a week I feed the lodestone with iron filings to help attract what I want for the coming year into my life. I usually list a few categories of things like:

  • Work
  • Health/Body
  • Magical/Spiritual Goals & Desires
  • Relationships (including friends/family/significant others/etc)
  • You get the idea… I then add in more specific things in bulleted lists under those headings

 

When it comes to petition spells of this sort, I often include items like “spend more time outside, enjoying the natural world” as well as things I have no direct control over, since I want to have agency, and perhaps influence the likelihood of the things I can’t directly control by including and then deliberately choosing to accomplish the things I can accomplish without magic/spiritual techniques.

I also did some cleansing of my apartment, nothing too involved, just a spiritual version of ‘dusting/vacuuming,’ to get the year off to a fresh clean start: burning incense to cleanse the space, along with a decent amount of physical cleaning/vacuuming/etc, making sure my altar and shrines and such are clean and pretty.

I also spent some quality time at my Ancestor shrine, to thank them for giving me my very life and everything I enjoy and appreciate in the world, since without them I wouldn’t exist, much less be the particular person I am. I also assume, generally, that they’re looking out for me, or watching over me in some sense, doing what they can to help me with what I need, considering they have an interest in my success and well-being, as the ‘outgrowth’ of themselves into their future, if that makes sense.

These are just some ways I spend my time on my birthday, I’m sure I’ll come up with new birthday things to do before my next birthday rolls around, but this is a glimpse into my personal practice and what I do on my birthday.

If you have birthday practices of a spiritual or magical nature, feel free to share them with me! I’m always on the hunt for interesting new ideas.

Leave a Reply

